Aqua Phoenix



  Navigator
 
  Add User
 
Add User
Figure 2: Add User
Click to enlarge


The Add User comprises fields that are related to user and account information. Some of these fields are outfit with additional functions (see below).

    Username
    Password in Base 64 format, i.e. encrypted [Default Value]
    First and Last Name
    Social Security Number (or some unique identifier, as commonly used in companies and universities)
    numerical UserID
    Group (selection)
    Home Directory
    Shell [Default Value]
    Mail Forward (toggle on/off)
    Mail Forward Address [Default Value]
    Account Creation (Date) [Default Value]
    Account Expiration (Date) [Default Value]
    Account Disabled (toggle on/off)
    FTP Server (toggle on/off)
    Paid (selection)
[Default Value] indicates that the field is filled with a default value, which can be set in the Settings portion of YPMan
indicates that the value can be looked up in the currect user account database. In case of duplicates, a warning is displayed on the right hand side of the screen, next to the field.
fills the field with the preset [Default Value].
fills the field with the next best, non-duplicate value.
decrements the date by one day. The date that is decremented by this function is taken directly from the textfield. I.e. if a correct date is manually entered in the textfield, this function will subtract one day from that date.
increments the date by one day. The date that is incremented by this function is taken directly from the textfield. I.e. if a correct date is manually entered in the textfield, this function will add one day to that date.

Linked to

  • Netgroups: through the group definition. Netgroups are defined by groups, among others. When adding a user with a group that appears in a netgroup definition, the user is automatically added to the netgroup.
  • Write & Restart: Upon adding a user, the Main Menu is notified that a change in the user database has occured. The Main Menu now displays a Warning message, which prompts the account manager to write the user database, as well as restarting YP.

When adding a user, the main fields are checked for correctness and duplicates. The following tasks are executed on a successful check:

  • the user's home directory is created
  • a default set of files is copied into that directory (see Settings)
  • the ownership for the directory is set
  • the new user receives an e-mail about the account creation (see E-Mail)

Notes:

  • FTP Server refers to the access privilege of ftp'ing into the server that hosts the user accounts.
  • The Expiration date is not a system function. That is, an account is not automatically disabled or deleted after the expiration date. The field is used only YPMan internally (see Delete Users, and other functions.)
  • The toggle switch "Disable" only prevents logins to a given user account by prepending an Asterisk to the encrypted password in the password database.
  • The Paid selection is not crucial to the functionality of the system. It has been added for accounting purposes.


After adding user accounts, the change in the user database needs to be written to disk in a separate process (see "Write and Restart")