Figure 5: Edit User
Click to enlarge
Before editing user accounts, the user is chosen from a list of all users. Several options can be used to only display a particular portion of users:
- a particular group
- or all users that satisfy one or more conditions:
- Paid (= paid, exempt, volunteer, paid via IDI)
- "Keep" Requests (from WWW)
- non-"Keep" Requests
- Default Password
The Edit User Interface resembles the Add User Menu in its visuals and functionality. All user account and user info fields can be changed.
- Netgroups: same as Add User
- Write & Restart: Upon editing a user, the Main Menu is notified that a change in the user database has occured. The Main Menu now displays a Warning message, which prompts the account manager to write the user database, as well as restarting YP.
When editing a user, the main fields are checked for correctness and duplicates. The following tasks are executed on a successful check:
- the user's home directory is moved, if necessary
- the ownership for the user's home directory is reset, if necessary
After editing user accounts, the change in the user database needs to be written to disk in a separate process (see "Write and Restart")